Random Dungeon 21

So I have been holed-up in central Virginia since Friday morning, and counting my blessings that we no longer live in the DC area. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected by the recent blizzard.

I’ve actually been able to get some work done and have a few maps for you. Today’s map is an experiment. I wanted to try something completely different with the walls. Awhile back I posted two maps from old DND/rogue-like games. These maps didn’t have thick walls so I followed the technique Dyson used on this map The Ruined Palace. My efforts looked like doo-doo (I was still using shitty pens), but I thought I could do better. Over the past couple of weeks I think I have.

Wall and Line-weight test

Wall and Line-weight test

I first started off looking at some of the different styles and line weights that I’ve used for my maps. Most of my recent maps have been in the top middle style. Fine for thick walls, but not for thin walls. Dyson used the middle style for the map I linked to above. Well, I have to have that crosshatching in my maps, so I added it to two different line weights. I loved it. So to test that style out, I whipped up a quick map. The result is below.

Today’s map was drawn with Micron 05 and 01 pens. Post-production yielded a fantastic contrast between the walls, rock, and open space. If I could ever figure out how to put in a grid, I’d be happy. Truth be told, working this way is much more time consuming but much more rewarding.

Random Dungeon 21

Random Dungeon 21

2 thoughts on “Random Dungeon 21

Leave a Reply

